Pursuing the found

1156 and 1183 mulitply their differences, 2013; Digital collage; Image: infinite i suppose

1156 and 1183 mulitply their differences, 2013;
Digital collage;
Image: infinite i suppose

A new page was added, for Digital Printmaking. I have also added several images from the series I have been working on for a while, Chilton Collages.

Digital printmaking to me was always kind of…scummy. It felt like cheating, or shortcutting. I make an image, I print it out on archival paper with an inkjet printer. Where’s the labor? I think printmaking value is more defined by the amount of labor involved in a process than many of the other disciplines (if you subscribe to the idea that art should be subdivided etc. etc. ad nauseum). For instance, some of my colleagues are of the belief that screen printing is less printmaking than lithography, mezzotint is impossibly harder than etching, and relief prints fall somewhere between screenprint and drypoint. Do we have to bleed all over the work for it to be valued? Another concern I have had, as well as others I’m sure, is that the print printed in edition is finite, ephemeral, somehow mirroring humanity perhaps, but the digital print is virtual, infinite in scale and number, cold and artificial like the T-1000 from Terminator.

1144 inverted, 2013; Digital collage; Image: 10 x 14 inches

1144 inverted, 2013;
Digital collage;
Image: 10 x 14 inches

When I started to really grasp the computer’s role as just another tool, like my drypoint needle or my roulette wheel, my attitude changed. The fact of the matter is that this is the time I live in, and in this time the computer and photography and virtuality can be part of the process. The pursuit of the word, the image, the answer is not contingent on labor, but on substance no matter the route to it.

My route has always been toward documenting my life, and my view of the world as led by poetry, which is in everything and is more my religion than one of those name brand ones you hear about on the radio. One of the ways that I document is with drawing, an immediate and poignant connection between myself and the matrix. The other way has been with my camera phone, a device I carry all the time. It’s not as arduous as drawing, in fact it takes a second or two, but it is in many ways just as valid. For me photo and video achieves the same thing as drawing, capturing a thought or a view of the world as edited and compiled by the human mind, in this case mine. It is of course another tool, but one that I feel is important and now that I have made piece with it, one that often produces good results.

~Michael Glenn, DEC 2013

Leave a Reply

